Santa Clarita DUI Lawyer
Protecting Your Rights and Freedom
A DUI conviction can have a significant impact on your life. Some of the consequences of DUI include fines, jail time, and driver’s license suspension. It could even affect your ability to maintain or obtain certain types of employment. Is it worth it to fight your charges?
If you are uncertain whether to plead guilty to a DUI charge or take your case to trial, consult with a Santa Clarita DUI attorney. At Lias Law Firm, our defense lawyer has years of experience handling these types of cases. We can evaluate your charges and help you make an informed decision about how to proceed. In many cases, we help our clients get their charges dismissed.
What Are the Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits in California?
In California, a person is considered to be driving under the influence of alcohol when his or her blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above .08%. Those who are under 21 years of age can be charged with DUI if their BAC is .01% or higher.
Individuals of any age that are on DUI probation are also subject to the .01% limit. It is illegal for drivers of vehicles that require a CDL to operate, with or without a CDL issued to the driver, to have a BAC of .04% or more.
Finally, drivers carrying passengers for hire at the time of the offense will be charged for DUI if their BAC is .04% or higher.
What are the Penalties for DUI in CA?
After an arrest for DUI, the DMV can take administrative action to suspend a person’s driving privileges. The court may take a separate action to suspend the individual’s driver’s license and bring additional penalties of fines and jail time. The court can also require the defendant to complete a DUI program.
The penalties for DUI in the state of California include:
- First DUI conviction – $390 to $1,000 in fines, 48 hours to six months in jail, and six-month license suspension
- Second DUI conviction – $390 to $1,000 in fines, 96 hours to one year in jail, and two-year license suspension
- Third DUI conviction – $390 to $1,000 in fines, 120 days to one year in jail, and three-year license suspension
- DUI with injury (misdemeanor) – $390 to $5,000 in fines, five days to one year in county jail, and six-month to one-year license suspension
- 1st offense DUI with injury (felony) – $390 to $5,000 in fines, 16 months to 16 years in state prison, and one-year license suspension
- Felony DUI – $390 to $1,000 in fines, 16 months, two years, or three years in state prison, and up to five years of driver’s license suspension
DUI convictions are placed on a person’s driving and criminal record. These previous convictions are taken into consideration when determining the specific penalties, including the length of both the prison sentence and driver’s license suspension, as well as the amount of the fine.
Field Sobriety Tests
The following tests make up The Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST):
- Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test
- Walk-and-turn test
- One-leg stand test
The officer uses these tests to determine if the person in question was under the infleunce of drugs or alcohol while operating their vehicle. They are look for common signs of intoxication such as loss of balance (swaying/hopping) or not following instructions properly.
Call Today For the Representation You Deserve
If you have been charged with driving under the influence, you deserve to be represented by a lawyer who truly cares about you and knows how to win. When you choose Lias Law Firm, you can benefit from working directly with our skilled Santa Clarita DUI lawyer throughout your entire case. While we cannot guarantee specific results, we can assure you that we work tirelessly to obtain the best possible outcome.